Does ‘Poltergeist’ need a remake?

Standard

The 1982 classic has a remake set to come out in May. But will it be worth a watch?

Let me start out by saying that I am a big horror fan, but never found the original Poltergeist to be anything special. Nothing about it scared me, and I have seen it when I was a young kid and I have seen it recently as a young adult.

So, I’m not entirely opposed to a remake. I’m sure there are people out there who are like “This is the best movie ever, don’t ruin it omggggg,” but I’m like, “Why not give it a try?”

I admit that there are a lot of things in the trailer that make this film look redundant and unoriginal (scary clown, dad mistakes ghost for daughter, etc.). And I’m split on the whole “From the producers of Evil Dead and The Grudge” because Evil Dead = awesome, but The Grudge = awful.

My hope is that this movie can bring something new to the table and isn’t just like the original. Give me something genuinely scary and lay off the jump scares!

Final thoughts: I am intrigued enough to go see this movie, but I don’t have high expectations.

Leave a comment